top of page

5 Things to Look for in an Essential Oils Company





There is so much information out there in the online world, it’s hard to sort through what’s truth and what is opinion. Like finding that needle in a haystack. Do you remember the episode in The Amazing Race where they had to find the needle in the haystack? It was the.worst.ever.


So not fun...

Please let me save you your sanity (and the 6 months of research I did as a mom...because let’s be honest, we do better research than the FBI).


I had been using essential oils for 6 years before being introduced to the brand I use now. I couldn’t understand what the big deal was. I had been using a few different brands of the best oils I could find at health food stores and online and I was happy to continue to do so. Why would I bother changing to another company? They’re all pretty much the same, right? I mean, an oil is an oil.


I was sampled a few of this new brand of oils to try so I could compare. I was pretty skeptical they would be anything more than what I already had. I was pretty certain mine were awesome. Boy, was I wrong.


Just the initial smell comparison was surprising enough. But when I actually used them on us for supporting our health, I was blown away. It was one thing to see results with myself, but to see them with my boys - INCREDIBLE! There is no placebo affect when it comes to kids and my two were the greatest experiment to compare the purity and potency of my new oils with my old oils.


Why were they so different?!?


That was my question, too. I mean, how could these oils be SO DIFFERENT in the way they support our body so well compared to the exact same oils on the shelves of health food stores or from other well- known companies online?


After 6 years of trying a many essential oils as I could, plus months of research when I'd found one that supported my health in a way that no others could (told you I’d save you time), here are the 5 things I found that are SUPER important to look for in an essential oils company.


Regulation

Since essential oils are not regulated by any governing body, there's a lot of room for interpretation. For example, 100% "pure" could still mean there's synthetics, carrier oils, adulterations, etc. Be careful what you buy from stores....even Wal Mart carries a “100% pure Lavender oil” that’s been tested and doesn’t actually have Lavender in it. Oh dear. Look into the company you use or are considering using and ask yourself: what are their standards? Do they have a team of scientists behind them? What about doctors and researchers?


Indigenously Sourced

Let’s use Lavender as an example. Lavender grows indigenously in Europe. That means it's been grown there for thousands of years and where it's originally from. A plant is at it’s most potent form when grown indigenously. It’s that eco-system, soil, climate, etc. that make the oil as pure and potent as it is supposed to be. You can't re- create that in another part of the world, in a greenhouse, etc.


Time of Harvesting

If you've ever compared a pineapple from your local grocery store to one picked ripe from a plantation in Hawaii you would be able to see, smell, and taste the difference. That's because the grocery store pineapple was picked long before it was ready and had to ripen on the journey to your counter. This concept is the same for essential oils. If harvesting happens too soon or too late, it can dramatically change the chemical properties of an essential oil. Ask the company you use - are they harvesting only when the plant is meant to be harvest?


Properly Distilled

There are a lot of ways to distill and a lot can cut the quality. Many companies are looking to cut prices so they use high heat and high pressure so they get the most amount of oil for the least amount of cost. Much of the therapeutic compounds are altered by this. Think about what happens to the enzymes in your vegetables when you cook them at high temperatures. Proper distillation is key!


Thorough Testing

We use these sweet miracle oils internally and put them on our loved ones - that’s a big deal! I want the company I use to go above and beyond with their quality control standards to ensure nothing less than ACTUAL PURE oils end up in that bottle! This is where thorough testing comes into play. And not just the chemistry make-up of an oil. Those can be altered when oils are adulterated. I’m talking layers of testing for everything from pesticides, herbicides, heavy metals. Testing for purity and potency (because who wants to be using 5-20 drops per dose??? I’m sensing a lack of potency here...no thank you!). And on the note of testing, let's be sure the oil company you use is testing their oils using third parties, mmmkay?


Sustainable Practices

Maybe it's just me, but I'd really love for my great-great-great-great grandkids to still be able to live on this planet. Not like all the lazy people in WALL-E. When looking for an oil company, ask questions about sourcing. Where do they get their oils? How are they harvested? Is the local environment considered? Are the plants/trees cared for lovingly in order to preserve them for generations to come? Here's a big question...are they sourced using 3rd party companies? If that's the case, then run. {that's a whole other blog post}.


Supporting Growers

I remember one of the oil brands I was introduced to a long time ago prided themselves on owning everything - all farms, practices, tests, etc. That just didn't sit well with me and my view of the world. I'm not a fan of companies who own every part of their process. Where's the accountability? Look for a company that partners with growers. And there's a BIG bonus if they give back to the communities they work in. I want to live in that sort of world where the mission is to lift the planet.



I hope this list helps you to sort through the various companies, claims, and opinions so you can make the best choice for yourself and for your family.



 

Want to know more about essential oils?

Interested in bringing dōTERRA into your home?

bottom of page