top of page

How to Make Your Own Sunscreen

Updated: May 16, 2019



Two years ago we had moved almost all our cleaning and body care products from store-bought to hand made. Only one recipe was left, and that was sunscreen.

It took me a long time, as I was concerned about the true protection I would get from something handmade. But when I understood the chemicals associated with sunscreen and the detrimental effects on our bodies that absorb them (26 seconds, people!! That's all it takes for a product to be absorbed into our skin!), I knew I had to make the switch.

After researching a bunch of recipes and trying a few, I came up with my own the I LOVE.

Ingredients

1/3 cup shea butter

1/3 cup coconut oil

1/3 cup avocado oil (can also use olive oil)

5 drops Lavender essential oil

5 drops Frankincense essential oil

1. Combine the first 3 ingredients in a saucepan and warm on stovetop until melted.

2. Remove from heat and let cool. Place in fridge for 1-2 hours, or until thickened.

3. Stir with a spoon until smooth or beat with mixer for a whipped consistency.

4. Add zinc oxide and essential oils. Stir until combined.

* be careful not to inhale the zinc oxide

I know there are different thoughts on this, but I don't put sunscreen on my boys every day all day long. We all need Vitamin D and we can't absorb that delicious vitamin from the sun if we're slathered in protective lotions all day! So do your research and decide how often this should be applied for you. I love this summary from Wellness Mama.

 

Want to know more about essential oils?

Interested in bringing dōTERRA into your home?

Shoot me a message!


bottom of page